top of page

The Norman A. Smith
Memorial Scholarship


The Norman A Smith Memorial Scholarship was established by the Waverley RSL sub-Branch in 1986 and is awarded annually. Over the past thirty-eight years, scholarship recipients have come from schools within the City of Monash and elsewhere.  These Norman A Smith Scholars have gone on to carve out successful careers in engineering, medicine, law, research, public service, education etc., all benefiting the community.

Object of the Scholarship

To enable a Year 10 student, displaying leadership potential and a commitment to their community, and who lives or studies in the City of Monash, to continue their schooling through to tertiary studies.  The subsequent career choice should seek to benefit their fellow Australians.

Norman A Smith 1922 - 1982

The Norman A Smith Memorial Scholarship honours a long serving RSL member.  Norman worked tirelessly to assist ex-service personnel and their families coping with the many problems that confronted them post World War Two.

Norman was an executive member of RSL Victoria and President/Vice President/Secretary of the Waverley RSL Sub-Branch between 1962 and 1982.

He displayed a keen interest and concern in the welfare and personal development of young people.  Norman was also intensely interested in and involved with competitive sport and encouraged young people to participate and develop their physical fitness.

The Waverley RSL Sub-Branch is proud to offer this scholarship in Norman's name.

Value of the Scholarship

The Waverley RSL Sub-Branch provides $8,000.  The Scholarship was established in 1986 and has been awarded annually.  The $8,000 is paid in two amounts in Years 10 and 11 (providing the winner maintains a satisfactory school record).



from Presentation Night

September 2023

Left - Cr Tina Samardzija, Mayor of Monash

with the winner Thomas Maguire-Nguyen and Waverley RSL Vic President Geoff Dare

Right - Thomas with other Norman A Smith Scholars including at rear left, the inaugural 1986 winner, Robert Klein (ex-Wesley College). Alongside Thomas, is the 2022 winner, Isabelle Devadass from Sacred Heart Girls School.

2024 Key Dates for Schools and Applicants

Friday 19 April - Information sent to schools.

Friday 17 May - Applications close by 4pm.

Saturday morning 27 July - Examination

Monday evening 12 August - finalists Interviews

Thursday evening 12 September - Presentation Night

Communication Process

All correspondence with schools is via email:

All queries and applications must be submitted to the committee via

Further committee contacts with schools, applicants and finalists will be by individual email address

Committee members may contact individual schools if necessary.

  1. You must be a Year 10 student who is a resident or enrolled at a school, in the City of Monash.

  2. You must be an Australian Citizen

The Selection Process

  1. You will submit a personal profile of your interests, school activities and community involvement.

  2. you will attend and sit a 90-minute examination consisting of (1) multiple-choice questions about Australia and (2) an essay on aspects of leadership and community.

  3. Your personal profile forms part of the assessment.

  4. Exam + Essay + Personal Profile = your score

  5. Five finalists will be selected and will be interviewed by a panel to choose the Norman A. Smith Scholar for 2024.

  6. Schools will provide a confidential report for each finalist.

The Selection Criteria

You will be assess against these selection criteria

  1. Academic performance

  2. Leadership qualities

  3. Community awareness and involvement

  4. Aptitude for logical thinking

  5. Decision making skills

You want to be an Applicant.

Who can apply?

Thomas Maguire-Nguyen 2023.png

The 2023 Norman A Smith


Thomas Maguire-Nguyen,

Salesian College

Scholarship Documents

The Following PDF files can be downloaded by schools or applicants.

(click to download)

The Norman A Smith Scholarship Alumni
bottom of page